Menu

Opinions by Daniel Glasner, founder & CEO of Action Finance SA.

READ HIS BIO

Switzerland is still in the last century when it comes to legislation with respect to the opening of a bank account via the Internet

Swiss finish

How is it possible that Swiss legislation is so backward when it comes to Internet banking? Certainly out of a fear of establishing a relationship with a straw man or because contracts signed with a pen on paper cannot be falsified. However this is obsolete thinking. Whether or not the client has complied with his tax obligations changes absolutely nothing.

Indeed, a resident of Switzerland (or a person resident abroad), wishing to open an account – as an individual – with a Swiss institution is required to sign a multitude of contractual documents by hand and be “physically” identified by a financial intermediary, directly or indirectly supervised by FINMA, the Swiss financial markets supervisory authority, pursuant to the provisions of the Swiss Federal Act on Money Laundering (MLA), the ordinances in force and the CBD (Convention on Bank Diligence). In addition, the holder of the account must fill out by hand and sign the various forms (FATCA) to satisfy the requirements the American tax authorities.

The legal framework

Despite the advances in Internet technology, vocal recognition, biometrics and digital identification and the progress in IT security, it is currently still not possible to open a bank account entirely using the Internet by connecting to a website with a banking institution. Indeed, the client is required to meet a financial intermediary (banker, wealth manager, lawyer, etc.) and the latter is required to photocopy the identity documents or the passport of the client and to certify that the copy is in conformity with the original!

Even if, under Swiss law, an electronic signature is deemed the equivalent of a handwritten signature, an electronic signature is only valid under certain restrictive conditions and the simple fact of checking the box on an online digital form may not suffice when a dispute is brought before the courts.

In terms of progress, we are halfway there

Already, for several years, the means to execute financial transactions by using personal codes through digital access has been multiplying. For example, the user of a credit or debit card “signs” a bill/invoice by tapping their PIN (Personal Identification Number) on the keyboard of a computer, or a (mobile) terminal at a retailer or at an ATM.

This type of identification has turned out to be more reliable than a handwritten signature, above all when it permits instant verification as to whether the client possesses a sufficient line of credit or has money in their account for the purposes of acquiring the goods or services. Unfortunately, in order to apply an archaic security process, the PIN for the customer’s card is sent to them by mail and previously, the customer was required to provide a handwritten signature on the application form for the card as well as in order to accept the terms of issuance.

In a world where every minute counts, making people travel to a point-of-sale or a branch is becoming more and more tedious, it is therefore important to facilitate access to online financial services, at the very least, for residents of Switzerland.

The future

It is absolutely necessary that the players involved and Internet users take an active part in the debate on the current revisions to the ordinance on money laundering. The deadline for submitting comments expires on April 7, 2015.

Within this framework, it is indispensable to facilitate identification over the Internet of a client who wishes to benefit from financial services and to encourage the use of low-cost electronic signatures. Notwithstanding the role played by organizations for consumer protection in this consultation, customers should not be treated as wards of court and the current over burdensome procedures should be simplified, especially given that the providers of financial services charge their customers for the costs incurred in following them.

Please feel free to send your comments, suggestions and concerns to:
auditionLBA@actionfinance.ch

Menu

Opinions par Daniel Glasner, fondateur et directeur d’Action Finance SA.

LIRE SON PORTRAIT

La Suisse se trouve encore au siècle dernier en matière législative relative aux ouvertures de compte bancaire par internet

Swiss finish

Comment se fait-il que les bases légales en Suisse soient si dépassées lorsqu’il s’agit d’établir une relation bancaire par internet? Certainement par crainte d’établir une relation avec un prête-nom ou parce que des contrats signés avec un stylo sur un support en papier ne sont pas falsifiables. C’est obsolète. Que le client soit ou non en règle avec ses obligations fiscales n’y change rien.

En effet, un résident en Suisse (ou un résident à l’étranger), désirant ouvrir un compte – en tant que personne physique – dans un établissement en Suisse doit signer une multitude de documents contractuels sous forme manuscrite et se faire identifier « en chair et en os » par un intermédiaire financier, soumis à la surveillance directe ou indirecte de la FINMA, selon la loi sur le blanchiment d’argent (LBA), les ordonnances en vigueur et la CDB (Convention de Diligence des Banques). En plus, le titulaire du compte doit remplir et signer sous forme manuscrite des formulaires (FATCA) pour satisfaire les exigences des autorités fiscales américaines.

Le cadre légal

Malgré l’avènement de la technologie par internet, la reconnaissance vocale, l’identification biométrique et digitale et les progrès en matière de sécurité informatique, il n’est aujourd’hui pas encore possible d’ouvrir intégralement un compte par internet en se connectant à un site web d’un établissement bancaire. En effet, le client doit rencontrer un intermédiaire financier (banquier, gérant de fortune, avocat, etc.) et il faut que ce dernier photocopie la pièce d’identité ou le passeport du client en consignant sur la copie qu’elle est conforme à l’original !

Même si en droit suisse, une signature électronique peut être assimilable à une signature manuscrite, la signature électronique n’est légalement valable qu’à certaines conditions restrictives et le simple fait de cocher une case à la base d’un formulaire digital en ligne peut ne pas suffire lorsqu’un différend est porté devant les tribunaux.

Nous sommes à mi-chemin du progrès

Depuis quelques années déjà, les moyens d’exécuter des opérations financières en utilisant des codes personnels par voie digitale se multiplient. Par exemple, l’utilisateur d’une carte de crédit ou de débit « signe » un relevé/facture en tapant son NIP (Numéro d’Identification Personnel) sur le clavier d’un ordinateur, auprès d’un terminal (mobile) chez un commerçant ou au bancomat.

Cette identification se relève être plus fiable qu’une signature manuscrite, surtout lorsqu’il s’agit de vérifier instantanément si le client possède une ligne de crédit suffisante ou s’il détient de l’argent sur son compte afin d’acquérir un bien ou des services. Hélas, afin d’appliquer un processus de sécurité archaïque, le NIP de la carte du client lui a été expédié par courrier postal et auparavant, le client a dû signer de manière manuscrite la demande d’octroi de la carte ainsi que l’acceptation des conditions générales.

Dans un monde où chaque minute compte, le déplacement des personnes pour se rendre à un point de vente ou à une agence devient de plus en plus fastidieux, il est donc important de faciliter l’accès aux services financiers en ligne, à tout le moins, pour les résidents en Suisse.

À l’avenir

Il faut absolument que les milieux concernés et les utilisateurs d’internet prennent activement part à l’audition de la révision actuelle de l’ordonnance sur le blanchiment d’argent. Le délai de remise des prises de position court jusqu’au 7 avril 2015.

Dans ce cadre, il est indispensable de faciliter l’identification par internet du client bénéficiaire de services financiers et de favoriser l’utilisation de la signature électronique à moindre coût. Nonobstant le rôle que joueront les organisations de protection des consommateurs dans cette consultation, il importe de ne pas mettre les clients sous tutelle et de simplifier les procédures actuelles trop onéreuses et qui sont répercutées par les prestataires de services financiers sur leurs clients.

Nous vous prions de bien vouloir nous envoyer vos commentaires, suggestions et préoccupations à :
auditionLBA@actionfinance.ch